Active Concessions

The Petroleum Law, Law No. 21/2014 of 18 August, provides that the conduction of petroleum operations is subject to the signing of a concession contract, which grants rights of (a) reconnaissance, (b) exploration and production; (c) construction and operation of oil or gas pipeline systems; and (d) construction and operation of infrastructure.

As defined by the petroleum law, a concession contract area is the area within which the rights holder is authorized to conduct petroleum operations. It also defines petroleum operations as those relating the planning, preparation and implementation of the activities of reconnaissance, exploration, development, production, treatment, storage, petroleum transportation, cessation of such activities or termination of the use of infrastructure, including the implementation of a decommissioning plan, sale or delivery of petroleum to the point of supply or loading as a commodity, in the form of liquefied natural gas or delivered for energy generation or industrial use.

Currently, there are 12 active concession contracts, 10 of which for exploration and production and 2 for the construction and operation of oil and gas pipeline systems.

Two (2) of all exploration and production concessions are located in the Rovuma Basin, Areas 1 and 4, and the remaining 8 concessions in the Mozambique Basin, namely:

i) Areas Z5-C and Z5-D (in the Zambezi Delta),

ii) Areas A5-A and A5-B (in the Angoche),

iii) Buzi Block, PT5-C Area and Pande and Temane Blocks. The Pande and Temane Blocks are subdivided into two contracts namely the Production Sharing Agreement and the Petroleum Production Agreement.

See the summary information on the concession contracts below. (GRID)